2008 Mythopoeic Award Winners

by Aug 20, 2008Books

David from The Mythopoeic Society sent over the list of winners of this years awards.  Notably, Diana Glyer’s excellent book, The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community, was recognized with the “Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies”.  Here’s the whole list:

2008 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Catherynne M. Valente, The Orphan’s Tales, consisting of In the Night Garden (Spectra) and In the Cities of Coin and Spice (Spectra)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

J.K. Rowling, The Harry Potter series, consisting of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s [Sorcerer’s] Stone (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Bloomsbury); and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Bloomsbury)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Diana Pavlac Glyer; appendix by David Bratman, The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community (Kent State University Press, 2007)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

T.A. Shippey, editor, The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm’s Mythology of the Monstrous (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2005)


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author

story collection for adults published during 2007 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings.” Books are eligible

for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a

series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume

appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from

“Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of

Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which

award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams

that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last

three years (2005-2007) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award

in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to

more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings

Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon XXXIX in New Britain, Connecticut, on August 17,

2008. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

www.mythsoc.org/awards.html

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also

listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards

Administrator: David Oberhelman, 306 Edmon Low Library, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK 74078,

awards@mythsoc.org.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Found in Home 5 News 5 Books 5 2008 Mythopoeic Award Winners

You may also like…