Schedule of The Lord of the Rings TV Specials - Set those VCRs, folks!

With just 2 weeks before the release of <I><B>The Two Towers</I></B>, U.S. fans can look forward to several television treats coming to the small screen.  Perhaps these shows, the extended DVD and the upcoming TTT soundtrack (Dec. 10) can tide most of us over until December 18th.  Enjoy!

 

<B>4 DECEMBER - WEDNESDAY - NBC - 7 AM ET / 6 AM CST
TODAY SHOW</B>

Director Peter Jackson appears in the early morning tv show.


<B>4 DECEMBER - WEDNESDAY - WB CHANNEL - 8 PM ET
THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS: RETURN TO MIDDLE EARTH</B>

Hosted by Michael Rosenbaum ("Smallville"), the <I>Return to Middle Earth</I> special is an hour long behind-the-scenes look at the making of <I>The Two Towers</I>.  In addition to on-location cast interviews and an <b>exclusive world premiere clip</b> from the film, the special gives an in-depth look at the sets and costumes as well as interviews from Peter Jackson and cinematographer Andrew Lesnie.  A must see!

For more information, <A HREF="http://www.thewb.com/Shows/WithFeedback/0,9310,82772,00.html" TARGET="NEW">CLICK HERE</A>.


<B>8 DECEMBER - SUNDAY - BRAVO - 8 PM ET / 7 PM CST
INSIDE THE ACTORS STUDIO: IAN MCKELLEN</B>

Interview session with actor Ian McKellen.  With an encore presentation at 12 midnight ET the same night.


<B>9 DECEMBER - MONDAY - BRAVO - 8 PM ET / 7 PM CST
FROM PAGE TO SCREEN: THE LORD OF THE RINGS</B>
In this spellbinding hour, director Peter Jackson, Elijah Wood ("Frodo"), Sean Astin ("Sam Gamgee"), as well as "Pippin", "Merry" and the evil "Saruman" are joined by screenwriters, makeup artists, special effects masters, set designers and Tolkien experts, to reveal the story behind the making of The Lord of the Rings, from page to screen -- a task that was so daunting that Jackson had to use advanced telecommunications to simultaneously direct several scenes in several different locations. In the end it would take an army the size of any in Tolkien's volumes - including 1,600 Hobbit feet and 20,000 extras - to make the book of the 20th Century into the movie of the 21st.

For more information, <A HREF="http://www.bravotv.com/pagetoscreen/rings.php" TARGET="NEW">CLICK HERE</A>.  Check cable listings for encore presentations.

<B>9 DECEMBER - MONDAY - MTV - 9 PM ET / 8 PM CST
MTV MOVIE HOUSE: THE TWO TOWERS</B>

Premieres Monday at 9 pm ET.  This half-hour special is a behind-the-scenes look at the making of the new film.  With encore performances on:

TUESDAY DEC. 10 @ 3:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM CST
WEDNESDAY DEC. 11 @ 11:00 PM ET / 10:00 PM CST
THURSDAY DEC. 12 @ 6:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM CST
FRIDAY DEC. 13 @ 4:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM CST
SUNDAY, DEC 15 @ 1:00 AM ET / 12:00 AM CST

Check your local cable listings for details.


<B>9 DECEMBER - MONDAY - MTV - 9:30 PM ET / 8:30 PM CST
MTV MAKING OF THE VIDEO GAME: THE LORD OF THE RINGS</B>

A behind-the-scenes look at the making of the video game. Check your local cable listings for details.

Tuesday, 10 Dec @ 2:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm CST
Wed, 11 Dec @ 11:30 pm ET / 10:30 pm CST
Thurs, 12 Dec @ 6:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm CST
Fri, 13 Dec @ 5:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm CST
Sun, 15 Dec @ 1:30 am ET / 12:30 am CST

 

<B>11 DECEMBER - WEDNESDAY - STARZ MOVIE CHANNEL - 11:45 PM ET
ON THE SET: THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS</B>
A 20-minute behind the scenes look at the upcoming film. Check listings for encore showings.

<B>12 DECEMBER - THURSDAY - NBC - 7 AM ET / 6 AM CST
TODAY SHOW</B>
Actor Elijah Wood appears on the Today Show.

<B>13 DECEMBER - FRIDAY - NBC - 9 AM ET / 8 AM CST
REGIS AND KELLY</B>
Actor Elijah Wood appears on the morning talk show.


<B>14 DECEMBER - SATURDAY - STARZ MOVIE CHANNEL - 8 PM ET
PREMIERE PRESENTATION OF "THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING"</B>
Check cable listings for showtimes and encore showings.

<B>15 DECEMBER - SUNDAY - TRAVEL CHANNEL - 9 PM ET / 8 PM CST
NEW ZEALAND: THE ROYAL TOUR</B>
The prime minister of New Zealand and actor Karl Urban (Eomer) takes us on a tour of New Zealand.

For more information, <A HREF="http://travel.discovery.com/tuneins/nzroyaltour.html" TARGET="NEW">CLICK HERE</A>.


<B>15 DECEMBER - SUNDAY - TRAVEL CHANNEL - 10 PM ET / 9 PM CST
SECRETS OF NEW ZEALAND</B>
A look at New Zealand's hidden treasures.


<I>NOTES: As always, please check your local tv/cable listings for exact showtimes in your area. Times and dates may change without prior notice from the network studio.</I> 

Add New Comment

Latest Forum Posts

Join the Conversation!