Got an extra $15,000 (US) Laying Around? - Well, we have the perfect gift you can purchase for us


Got $15,000 for this book?
Steve Shovlar sent this in:

Just thought I would let you now that I was in Sothebys Bond Street London yesterday and they have an upcomming auction. The cover of the catalogue is of an early edition of the Hobbit, valued at 8,000 UK pounds.

After looking into it a bit further, here is the information.

Lot # 134
Tolkien, J.R.R.,
The Hobbit,
George Allen and Unwin, 1937.

Estimate:
£8,000-10,000
$12,600-15,800

Auciton Information
Session 1. Thursday, May 11, 10:30 am
Session 2. Friday, May 12, 2:30 pm
Session 3. Thursday, May 18, 10:30 am

Exhibition Information
Sunday, May 7 : Lots 1-537 only
Monday, May 8 : Lots 1-537 only
Tuesday, May 9 : Lot 1-537 only
Wednesday, May 10 : Lots 1-537 only
Sunday, May 14 : Lots 538-844 only
Monday, May 15 : Lots 538-844 only
Tuesday, May 16 : Lots 538-844 only
Wednesday, May 17 : Lots 538-844 only

Absentee Bids
This auction may be referred to as Sale L00207
Tel. 44 20 7293 5283
Fax. 44 20 7293 6255

Inquiries
Tel. 44 20 7293 5000

Add New Comment

Latest Forum Posts

Join the Conversation!